The settings here are for users with S-63 charts from the Australian Hydrographic Office (AHO). If you are using AHO charts, you can enable checks to occasionally see if you have any chart updates. When chart updates are available, you can download them directly using this automatic download feature.
As with other S-63 chart sources, you will need to register your S-63 User Permit and provide it to your chart provider for them to create your chart permits. Please see Settings / S-63 Charts / Help for more information.
Downloading the AHO chart files does not require an account with AHO. However to use the AHO charts, you must install valid S-63 chart permits. Note that you install your permit files in the Files tab, using the normal import methods. You can install either the ENC.zip file or the PERMIT.TXT file contained within.
Downloads for base charts and updates from AHO can be quite large. Base charts may be over 200MB. Updates may be up to 50MB, depending on how many updates have been produced.
Recommended best practice is to only update your charts when you have a chance to validate the updates are correct.
Chart Files : View currently downloaded chart files.
From time to time, you may wish to remove old update files in the AHO Charts. After deleting such files be sure to do an Update to download any parts of those files that might still be needed.
Download Updates : This attempts to download charts from AHO. You must be connected to the internet. You do not need an account with AHO to download charts, but you need valid permit files in order to use them.
You can see the status being updated as the download proceeds. When complete, a notification is given.
Keep in mind that chart updates can be quite large. You may want to wait until you are connected to a high speed internet connection before downloading updates for your charts.
Erase All AHO Charts : This button erases all your AHO chart files, after confirmation. This cannot be undone. You can download the files again. You can erase chart files individually by going to the Charts listing and pressing Edit.
This may be useful when changing accounts to clear out old files.